Manifestations of devi durga : Durga is the form of Sati-Parvati-Uma. The godees who killed the asuras to save the heaven and earth is Devi Chandika. From the Vedas we see Goddess Aditi is the main divine power worshipped. From the time of the Vedic period there is little known relating to goddess worship. Some references of the divine goddess is there in the Kena and Mundaka Upanishads. In the Puranas it is mentioned the worshippers of Shiva is called Shaiva, the worshipper of Vishnu is Vaishnavs and the worshipper of Devi is called Shakta. The Shakta values are mentioned in Markendeya Puran. Mahisa, the asura, defeating Indra and the other gods took the power of heaven.All gods went to go to Shiva and Vishnu to rescue them. Vishnu, Shiva and Brahma, through the power created the Goddess. Shiva gives her a trident drawn from his own trident, Krishna gives her a discus also drawn from his own discus, Indra a thunderbolt, Varuna a noose and so on. Mounted upon a lion she fights a battle with the asura. A long episode went on till she killed Mahisa and brought back peace in heaven.
The Vedic text describes the formation of Durga’s powers, her forms and her actions. Each of the nine forms of the Goddess Durga symbolises the life cycle of a female from childhood, matrimony to motherhood. The nine forms of the Durga are Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Gauri, and Siddhidatri. Each of the Navratri day is devoted to a Goddess in the above given sequence. Each form of Durga has an origin, name, physical attributes, colour of garments, a different animal on which she mounts, identity, power and functions. The Devimahatmya is the most ancient and the most valuable document on the mythology related to Goddess Durga.
Puranas is known to be wrtten in the Gupta Period beginning 320 AD. The Guptas were the first strong Hindu rulers and their commitments in the ancient Hindu teachings and epics is marked as greatness still today. The Puranas tells Devi Durga to the highest position,

She now evolved into two forms

1. Mahisasura Mardini – the warrior.

2. Uma-Sati-Parvati-Himavati – the wife of Lord Siva

– Markandya Puran – she kills the Asuras, Madhu and Kaiatabha. Devi Mahatmya describes Mahisasura Mardini as we know today.

– Vamana Puran – Pulatsya tells Narad of the origin of Mahisasura Mardini here called Katayani .As Kaushiki she slays Sumbha and Nishumbha.

– Devi Bhagwat Puran – origin of Mahisasura Mardini

– Siva puran – origin of Mahisasura Mardini

– Skanda Puran – The asura Durg after getting blessings by Brahma conquered the 3 worlds. Parvati, unable to defeat him in her form as Kalratri, assumed her 1000 armed form and defeated him.

– Chandi Mahatyama – celebrates the victories of the goddess – Durga, Dasabhuja, Mahisasura Mardini, Simhavahini, Jagadhatri, Kali, Muktakesi, Tara, Chinnamosta, Jagadgauri.

Varaha Puran – Shiva created Kaumari, to kill Andhaka.

In Hindu mythology, Parvati is known by many names. As daughter of Himavat Parvat she is known as Parvati, as Nagaja, Shailaja, Adrija or Shailaputri ( Daughter of the Mountains), Haimavathi (daughter of Himavan), Girija (daughter of the King of mountains).She is referred to as Aparna and Uma , Ambika, Maheshwari , Bhairavi , Shivaradni , Bhavani , Durga (invincible), Kamakshi , Annapurna , Gauri, Kali , Eshwari , Sarvamangala and many other names.