Nine forms of devi Durga :nine forms, devi durga, Navaratri

In Devi Mahatmaya – Devi durga hails the power of the world, she maintains cosmic stability. She is Sakambhari . She is the creator of all living beings. As a warrior goddess she maintains peace in the world by abolishing the evil power.

Hindu religious scriptures mentions the existence of the (Dasha Mahavidyas) which basically can be thought to be the ten fundamental aspects of the Supreme Mother’s personality. Nevertheless, each Goddess has a specific details mentioned below :

Kali : The Power of Time and The Night of Eternity
Tara : The Power of Void and The Night of Anger
Tripura Sundari : The Power of Absolute Splendor
Bhuvaneshwari : The Power of Space and The Night of Perfect Realization
Tripura Bhairavi : The Power of Death and The Night of Destiny
Chhinnamasta : The Power of Sacrifice and The Night of Courage
Dhumavati : The Power of Deprivation and The Night of Frustration
Bagalamukhi : The Power of Instantaneous Stopping
Matangi : The Power of Domination and The Night of Illusion
Kamalatmika : The Power of Perfect Happiness and The Night of Paradise

Another such classification of the mother Goddess is the basis of the Nava Durga or the Nine Durgas. These nine goddesses, who actually are forms of Goddess Durga are propitiated on each day of a popular Hindu festival called the Navaratri.
Shailputri: As daughter (putri) of the Himalaya mountains (Shail), Parvati  represents the first of the nine Durgas. She is depicted as holding a trident and a lotus in each of her two hands and is shown mounted on a bull.

Brahmacharini: The name indicates the phase of Parvati’s life when she was indulging in severe austerities to appease Lord Shiva into marrying her. She had pledged that she would remain unmarried (Brahmacharini) till Lord Shiva gives his consent to marrying Parvati. She is shown as holding a water pot (Kumbha) in one hand and a Rudrakhsa in the other. She is considered as a holder of knowledge and wisdom.

Chandraghanta: As Chadraghanta, the goddess is depicted as having golden skin and with a moon-crescent near her forehead. She is shown as having three eyes and ten hands, eight of which carry weapons and two of which form gestures of giving boons and stopping harms. She is shown as sitting on a tiger. She is usually associated with the giver of knowledge, bliss and serenity.

Kushmanda: The fourth Durga is known as Kushmanda. She is depicted as emanating a cosmic aura and is depicted as having eight hands, seven of which carry weapons while the eighth carries a rosary.

Skanda Mata: Skanda Mata literally means the mother of Skanda. Skanda was the son of Lord Shiva and Parvati and was the leader of the army of gods.The goddess is shown as having four hands, two of which carry lotuses while two are in defending and granting gestures. She is shown sitting on a lion with her son Skanda in her lap.

Katyayani: Katyaynai is so named after rishi Katyayan. She is sometimes also said to be the daughter of sage Katyayan. She also is shown astride a lion and has three eyes and four arms. In one hand she holds a lotus and in another a weapon. The third and fourth hands show defending and granting gestures.

Kaalratri: The seventh Durga, Kaalratri, is depicted as having black skin with bountiful hair, four arms and astride a donkey. In one hand she holds a cleaver and in another a burning torch. With the other two hands she forms gestures of granting and defending. She represents the enemy of darkness and ignorance.

Maha Gauri: Maha Gauri is depicted as the fairest of the nine Durgas and is often dressed in white or green. She emanates peace and compassion and is shown with three eyes and as riding a bull. She also has four arms, one of which carries a tambourine and another a trident. The other two form defending and granting gestures. It is said that when Parvati, wife of Lord Shiva, became dirty while observing penance, Lord Shiva bathed her with the holy waters of river Ganga. Parvati’s body turned lightning bright and thus she came to be known as Maha Gauri.

Siddhidatri: Siddhidatri means the giver of siddhis (magical or spiritual powers for the control of self, others and the forces of nature). It is said in Devipuran that the Supreme God, Lord Shiva received all of these powers by propitiating the Maha Shakti. The Goddess is sometimes shown atop a lion and sometimes atop a lotus. She is shown as having four arms, which hold a club, a conch shell and a lotus. The fourth hand forms a gesture of granting. Siddhidatri is considered to be the most powerful of all the nine forms, devi durga, Navaratri.