The history of Puran: The Skanda Purana tells us that the name of Durga is given to the goddess Parvati, consort of Siva, when she kills the demon Durga. A myth from the Devi Mahatmya, however, states that the Goddess has this name when she slays the demon Durgama. Devi is often called “Universal Mother” as Uma, Lord Shiva’s wife, she is seen as a protector and a mother figure. Devi Kalika identifies the opposite, and is revered as a destructive force. Along with others of the same nature, these names indicate that the Goddess Durga has within herself three forces: Creative, Preservative and Destructive. They are her three primal qualities: Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas.
The Goddess was traditionally worshipped in spring, but he had to invoke her during autumn, Akal Bodhan, this puja was held by Sri Ram Chandra to defeat Ravana, another epic of the Mythology.
According to Shri Shri Chandi, King Surath had invoked Durga in autumn, in order to get back his lost kingdom. Samadhi Vaishya had done the same to attain Brahmagyana or the knowledge of the Ultimate Truth.
There is also a legend of Indra, the King of Gods, waking up the Devi in autumn, in order to request her to slay Mahisha.
These different versions of Akal Bodhon possibly indicate that this legend is truely mythological in nature. The Puranas are eighteen in number. It is said there are also eighteen Upa or Minor Puranas – but the names of all these are not found. The principal eighteen Puranas are Brahma, Padma, Vishnu, Saiva, Bhagavat, Naradiya, Markandeya, Agni, Bhavishya, Brahma Vaivarta, Linga, Varahar Skanda, Vamana, Kurma, Matsya, Garuda and Brahmanda.
Devi’s victory against Mahisasur signifies not just the fight between gods and demons or good versus evil, but also the concepts of truth and mental illumination of good overl the evil. Devi’s incarnation has many other roles in the lives of her followers including bestowing divine wisdom and spiritual wealth.